Texas House of Representatives Approves Comprehensive Package of Disaster Recovery and Emergency Preparedness Legislation

Today, the Texas House of Representatives approved several pieces of key legislation addressing disaster recovery and emergency preparedness. In the wake of the devastation left behind by Hurricane Harvey in 2017, House Republicans made these issues a top priority to address during the 86th Legislative Session.

The Texas House has made it clear that the state is ready to devise long-term planning that will assist in the management of future emergency situations. With the passage of more than a dozen bills on the subject, the Texas House has initiated the development of a disaster recovery task force, provided debris management and disposal planning, created a flood infrastructure fund for state planned flood resiliency projects, and addressed many other issues related to emergency preparedness.

“By developing infrastructure for disaster recovery and emergency preparedness now, the Texas House is laying the groundwork to get ahead of future natural disasters,” stated Chairman Dustin Burrows. “I appreciate all of our members for their hard work today. Their efforts to ‘future-proof’ Texas from disasters will surely be impactful statewide.”

The bills passed today fulfill a majority of the recommendations made by the Governor's Commission to Rebuild Texas and address the critical issues Texans have faced in the months since Hurricane Harvey made landfall. In January, the Governor named natural disaster preparedness and response as a critical emergency item for the Legislature to consider.

The Texas House Republican Caucus is comprised of all Republican Members serving in the Texas House of Representatives. The purpose of the Caucus is to provide research, education, policy development and other support to the Caucus Members and their staff.

The Texas House Republican Caucus works to promote limited government, fiscal responsibility and personal liberty to continue cultivating economic growth for all Texans.