Texas House of Representatives Elects Dennis Bonnen as Speaker of the House

(Austin, Texas) -- Today, the Texas House of Representatives elected Representative Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) to serve as the Speaker of the House during the 86th Legislative Session. As required by the Texas Constitution, members of the Texas House elected their new presiding officer from their membership after the 86th Legislature convened earlier in the day.

“The Texas House Republican Caucus is proud to have elected Speaker Bonnen today to serve as the leader of the House and we look forward to working with him on completing the peoples’ business before the legislative session ends in May. Without question, we are confident and energized by his ability to unite the House Chamber and lead our members with strength and resolve,” said Chair Dustin Burrows.

Members of the Texas House Republican Caucus met on December 1, 2018 to select their Endorsed Speaker Candidate in preparation of the 86th Session. At the meeting, Republican Caucus members unanimously selected Representative Dennis Bonnen as their endorsed candidate for House Speaker.

The Texas House Republican Caucus is comprised of all Republican Members serving in the Texas House of Representatives. The purpose of the Caucus is to provide research, education, policy development and other support to the Caucus Members and their staff.

The Texas House Republican Caucus works to promote limited government, fiscal responsibility and personal liberty to continue cultivating economic growth for all Texans.