Caucus News

Texas House Passes Child Protection Legislation

Posted: March 2, 2017

(Austin, Texas) On Thursday, Republican Members of the Texas House showed their commitment to providing the necessary reform to Child Protective Services by approving House Bill 4, which provides additional monetary assistance for family members who care for a child who has been removed from his or her home, and House Bill 5, which makes the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) a stand-alone agency with a Commissioner appointed by the Governor. 


Posted: February 27, 2017

(Austin, Texas) Today, the Texas House Republican Caucus Chairman, Tan Parker, announced the appointment of Representative Jim Murphy as the Caucus Floor Leader for the 85th Legislative Session. Representative Murphy served in the same capacity in the 84th session.

Texas House Republican Caucus Announces Full Policy Committee for the 85th Legislature

Posted: February 13, 2017

(Austin, Texas) The Texas House Republican Caucus is pleased to announce that Representative Craig Goldman has been selected Chairman of the Policy Committee and Representative Greg Bonnen has been selected as Vice-Chair. Representative Goldman and Representative Bonnen will be joined by the following Members who were elected from their individual regions during our recent election.


Posted: January 18, 2017

(Austin, Texas) Today, Members of the Texas House Republican Caucus voted unanimously to re-elect the Executive Board of the House Republican Caucus for the 85th Legislative Session. Representative Tan Parker will serve as Chairman, Representative Cindy Burkett as Vice-Chairwoman, Representative John Raney as Secretary and Representative Dan Huberty as Treasurer.

Clarification on the TEC Appointment Process

Posted: July 19, 2016

(Austin, Texas) The Texas House Republican Caucus wanted to provide some clarifying guidance in regards to the Texas Ethics Commission, and appointments that are made by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Lieutenant Governor. Statutorily, the Speaker of the House and the Lieutenant Governor are each required to appoint a Republican and a Democrat to the Texas Ethics Commission.

DeWayne Burns’ First Year in the Texas House

Posted: March 23, 2016

​On the first day of June, the Texas House of Representatives closed out one of the most conservative legislative sessions in Texas history by delivering one victory after another for hard-working families across the state. Bosque and Johnson Counties' Representative, DeWayne Burns, proved himself to be an effective leader in advocating for ground breaking legislation both on the House floor and in the committee room.

John Cyrier’s Successful First Year in the House

Posted: January 26, 2016

​Representative John Cyrier won the special election to fill the vacant seat for House District 17 in the Texas House of Representatives on February 17, 2015, and was sworn into office just nine days before the deadline to file legislation for the 84th Legislative Session. Without fail, he hit the ground running on his very first day in the House and it is evident that he came to the Texas Capitol with a goal of achieving what the voters of his district sent him there to do and it paid off. Although he was elected a month after the legislative session began, he was able to pass legislation that is important to his district, and was very effective in helping the House pass crucial legislation for the state of Texas.