top of page
  • Texas House Republican Caucus

NEWS: THRC Releases List of Texas Democrats Who Have Not Returned Per Diem

AUSTIN – The Texas House Republican Caucus (THRC) today released the list of Texas Democrats who, after spending the first special session on vacation in Washington, D.C. and abroad, have yet to return the taxpayer money they collected while breaking quorum. Each member of the Texas House of Representatives receives a per diem of $221 or $6,630 per month.

“It is past time for the Democrat charade to come to an end,” said THRC Chairman Jim Murphy (R-Houston). “Not only must these Texas Democrats return home and do the jobs they were elected to do, but they should also return the taxpayer dollars they have been collecting while skipping town and failing to show up for work. The constituents of these missing representatives are paying taxes to go unrepresented in Austin, and it’s high time the issues that matter most to Texans are addressed.”

The failure of these Democrats to show up over the course of the first special session triggered a second special session. The total cost of the Democrats who caused the two sessions comes to nearly three-quarters of $1 million in taxpayer funds.

The list of vacationing Democrats who have yet to return their taxpayer funded per diem as of August 11, 2021 includes:

  • Rep. Alex Dominguez, HD-37

  • Rep. Alma Allen, HD-131

  • Rep. Ana Hernandez, HD-14

  • Rep. Ana-Maria Ramos, HD-102

  • Rep. Ann Johnson, HD-134

  • Rep. Armando “Mando” Martinez, HD-39

  • Rep. Armando Walle, HD-140

  • Rep. Art Fierro, HD-79

  • Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, HD-120

  • Rep. Carl Sherman, HD-109

  • Rep. Celia Israel, HD-50

  • Rep. Chris Turner, HD-101

  • Rep. Christina Morales, HD-145

  • Rep. Claudia Ordaz Perez, HD-76

  • Rep. Diego Bernal, HD-123

  • Rep. Donna Howard, HD-48

  • Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, HD-51

  • Rep. Elizabeth Campos, HD-19

  • Rep. Erin Zwiener, HD-45

  • Rep. Evelina “Lina” Ortega, HD-77

  • Rep. Gene Wu, HD-137

  • Rep. Gina Hinojosa, HD-49

  • Rep. Hubert Vo, HD-149

  • Rep. Ina Minjarez, HD-124

  • Rep. James Talarico, HD-52

  • Rep. Jarvis D. Johnson, HD-139

  • Rep. Jasmine Crockett, HD-100

  • Rep. Jessica González, HD-104

  • Rep. Joe Deshotel, HD-22

  • Rep. Joe Moody, HD-78

  • Rep. John Bucy, HD-136

  • Rep. Jon Rosenthal, HD-135

  • Rep. Julie Johnson, HD-115

  • Rep. Mary Ann Perez, HD-144

  • Rep. Mary González, HD-75

  • Rep. Michelle Beckley, HD-65

  • Rep. Nicole Collier, HD-95

  • Rep. Penny Morales Shaw, HD-148

  • Rep. Philip Cortez, HD-117

  • Rep. Rafael Anchía, HD-103

  • Rep. Ramon Romero Jr., HD-90

  • Rep. Ray Lopez, HD-125

  • Rep. Rhetta Andrews Bowers, HD-113

  • Rep. Richard Peña Raymond, HD-42

  • Rep. Ron Reynolds, HD-27

  • Rep. Senfronia Thompson, HD-141

  • Rep. Sergio Muñoz Jr., HD-36

  • Rep. Shawn Thierry, HD-146

  • Rep. Sheryl Cole, HD-46

  • Rep. Terry Meza, HD-105

  • Rep. Toni Rose, HD-110

  • Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer, HD-116

  • Rep. Victoria Neave, HD-107

  • Rep. Vikki Goodwin, HD-47

  • Rep. Yvonne Davis, HD-111


bottom of page