top of page
  • Texas House Republican Caucus

NEWS: 48 Texas Democrats Have Yet to Return Taxpayer Funded Per Diems from Vacation

AUSTIN – The Texas House Republican Caucus (THRC) today called on the 48 House Democrats who have yet to return the taxpayer money they collected while on vacation in Washington D.C. and abroad. Each member of the Texas House of Representatives receives a per diem of $221 or $6,630 per month, and these members have yet to reimburse the Texas taxpayers.

“Texans do not pay taxes so their representatives can take sight-seeing tours in Washington or gallivant across Europe,” said THRC Chairman, Jim Murphy (R-Houston). “They pay taxes to have representation in Austin on issues that matter like foster care grants, retired teacher funding and bail reform. It is past time for these 48 Democrats to return the money they took from taxpayers while avoiding their jobs. If they wish to be paid to vacation, I suggest they find new work as Instagram influencers.”

The failure of these Democrats to show up over the course of the first special session and a portion of the second special session has cost the taxpayers nearly three-quarters of $1 million and is increasing daily.

According to the House Business Office, the list of vacationing Democrats who have yet to return their taxpayer funded per diem as of August 20, 2021 includes:

  • Rep. Ana Hernandez, HD-14

  • Rep. Ana-Maria Ramos, HD-102

  • Rep. Ann Johnson, HD-134

  • Rep. Armando Walle, HD-140

  • Rep. Art Fierro, HD-79

  • Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, HD-120

  • Rep. Carl Sherman, HD-109

  • Rep. Celia Israel, HD-50

  • Rep. Chris Turner, HD-101

  • Rep. Christina Morales, HD-145

  • Rep. Claudia Ordaz Perez, HD-76

  • Rep. Diego Bernal, HD-123

  • Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, HD-51

  • Rep. Elizabeth Campos, HD-19

  • Rep. Erin Zwiener, HD-45

  • Rep. Gene Wu, HD-137

  • Rep. Gina Hinojosa, HD-49

  • Rep. Hubert Vo, HD-149

  • Rep. Ina Minjarez, HD-124

  • Rep. James Talarico, HD-52

  • Rep. Jarvis D. Johnson, HD-139

  • Rep. Jasmine Crockett, HD-100

  • Rep. Jessica González, HD-104

  • Rep. Joe Deshotel, HD-22

  • Rep. Joe Moody, HD-78

  • Rep. John Bucy, HD-136

  • Rep. Julie Johnson, HD-115

  • Rep. Mary Ann Perez, HD-144

  • Rep. Mary González, HD-75

  • Rep. Michelle Beckley, HD-65

  • Rep. Nicole Collier, HD-95

  • Rep. Penny Morales Shaw, HD-148

  • Rep. Philip Cortez, HD-117

  • Rep. Ramon Romero Jr., HD-90

  • Rep. Ray Lopez, HD-125

  • Rep. Rhetta Andrews Bowers, HD-113

  • Rep. Richard Peña Raymond, HD-42

  • Rep. Ron Reynolds, HD-27

  • Rep. Senfronia Thompson, HD-141

  • Rep. Sergio Muñoz Jr., HD-36

  • Rep. Shawn Thierry, HD-146

  • Rep. Sheryl Cole, HD-46

  • Rep. Terry Meza, HD-105

  • Rep. Toni Rose, HD-110

  • Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer, HD-116

  • Rep. Victoria Neave, HD-107

  • Rep. Vikki Goodwin, HD-47

  • Rep. Yvonne Davis, HD-111


bottom of page